VEGETARIANS BEWARE OF MAGGI!

Yes, yes, I feel your pain. If you’re a vegetarian that doesn’t eat eggs or fish, please, stay away from Maggi noodles! I live in Dubai, and I have been eating Maggi Curry for so long… I LOVE that flavor… Alas, my heart it quaked, the moment it was revealed to me, that Maggi “may contain traces of fish and crustacean”. LIKE OMG WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY! Even the Vegetable flavoured Maggi Noodles have traces of fish and crustacean! What part of “VEGETABLE” do they not get?

In India, vegetarian foods that are absolutely safe for vegetarians to eat have a green dot on the packet. My friend said these foods with the green dots are verified and checked by authorities to ensure they are vegetarian-friendly. The good news is that these green-dotted Maggi packets are available in Dubai and are safe for vegetarians. Even so, I strongly urge all of you to check the ingredients just to be sure, even if they are “vegetable flavored”. It seems even cheddar cheese is made out of animal rennet. Some cheddar cheese is perfectly safe for vegetarians as they are made from vegetarian rennet. Even Kraft cheese is made of animal rennet! But… LIKE OMG WHY WHY WHY WHYYYYYYYYY! Why would they do such a thing! It’s CHEESE!!

Advertisements

26 Comments

Filed under Health Care, Vegetarianism

26 responses to “VEGETARIANS BEWARE OF MAGGI!

  1. kev

    It’s just because they are processed with the same machinery that produces products with fish. It’s there because some people are highly allergic to products with fish in them and even the slightest trace can make them very ill. The likelihood of there being any meat in the noodles. If you’re that pedantic about eating meat, you may as well never eat out since i’m sure the grills used to cook your vegetarian food are just as likely to contain slight traces of meat.

    • DrainPiper

      Yup. I do like to try my very best to avoid anything with traces of non vegetarian food. The same company manufactures a different type of noodles certified as purely vegetarian by government authorities. I’d choose that over something with even traces of meat. And you got it, mate – what you mentioned is a reason we choose not to eat out.

  2. Abinaya

    Actually, another reason why Maggi is not vegetarian is because the masala contains a chemical callef E21 or something and that is made from pork’s cholostrol. SO BE CAUTIOUS ABOUT MAGGI!!!!

  3. Amit

    Thanks buddy … you saved many other vegetarian peoples …Go Veg 🙂

  4. dheeraj jain

    Maggie contains e627 which means *Disodium guanylate*, also known as *sodium 5′-guanylate* and *disodium 5′-guanylate*, is a natural disodium salt of the flavor enhancer
    guanosine monophosphate (GMP). Disodium guanylate is a food additive with the E number
    E627.[1] It is commonly used in conjunction withglutamic acid (monosodium glutamate, MSG).
    As it is a fairly expensive additive, it is not used independently of glutamic acid; if disodium guanylate is present in a list of ingredients but MSG does not appear to be, it is likely that glutamic acid is provided as part of another ingredient such as a processed soy protein
    complex
    . It is often added to foods in conjunction with disodium inosinate
    ; the combination is known as disodium 5′-ribonucleotides “Disodium guanylate is produced from dried fish or dried seaweed and is often added to instant noodles
    , potato chips
     and other snacks
    , savouryrice
    , tinned vegetables
    , cured meats
    , and packaged soup
    .

  5. dheeraj jain

    e627 can also be obtain from vegetable food check this link its nestle Australia website http://www.nestle.com.au/Nutrition-Health-Wellness/Fact-Sheets/Msg-Monosodium-Glutamate
    now the question is, is nestled using non veg to extract e627 or through vegetable like tomatoes which has e627, if anybody has time go to nestled website and contact them asking details they will reply back and kindly post it

  6. thanksssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

  7. saransh jain

    Sheit….i dontbeliev it…

  8. jeet

    I KNEW THAT BUT MY FRNDS WERE NOT BELIVING ME NOW I WILL SHOW THEM THIS

    • dasam

      what do u believe? is it veg or non-veg?

      • DrainPiper

        I’m the kind of person who is very careful about even traces of certain food items in my meals. I have severe food intolerances/sensitivities so I’m very careful about that. So to me, since it says on the package that there are traces of non-vegetarian food items, the entire product is non-vegetarian.

  9. Kjnjhnh

    Nooooooooooooooooooooooooo

  10. Maggi contains pig fat extract.

  11. DAVE JAGESH

    oh my god 😥

  12. ASHUTOSH KUMAR (INDIA)

    Those who REALLY want to know visit here……..u will get the right process to enjoy MAGGI without WAX and the proof of Non-Veg.

    1) http://foodie-funda.blogspot.in/2013/05/8-foods-you-didnt-know-contained-meat.html

    2) http://www.veggieglobal.com/nutrition/non-vegetarian-food-additives.htm

  13. rachna

    Can’t we case on nestle…as they hav been befooling us so long…

  14. saad

    Rubbish!!!!!_
    Alll rumours..

  15. POOJA KAKRAN

    It is Shocking…..!!!! OMG…..nd Thanks for sharing……………….

  16. DHIRAJ MISHRA FROM PRAYAG

    Always keep in mind we vegeterians should not buy the product of the company after all hereing all this much contradicts on their products they are not bouther to answer our queries , and a msg to the friends supporting to maggi pls you are not sure about the answer you all are providing, they are theoritical but by this you can just find reason to eat maggi if I am wrong just read why eggs are veg and start eating the same
    FROM KASHI BY VEGITERIAN
    PROUD TO BE VEGETERIAN

  17. Anmol Chopra

    all these are rumors maggi is pure vegetarian. this is the reply i got from nestle about maggi when i asked them – “Thank you for your email/query.

    We would like to assure you that, all other variants of MAGGI 2-Minute Noodles (except the Chicken Noodles) are 100% vegetarian and display the green dot in accordance with the same. Our only Non vegetarian variant is Chicken. We would also like to inform you that MAGGI Noodles do not contain Mono Sodium Glutamate (Ajinomoto).

    The flavor enhancer E635 (which is mixture of E627 and E631) used in MAGGI Noodles is made from vegetarian source i.e. from Beetroot and yeast extract.

    As per the Indian regulations any product containing ingredients, which are derived from the animal sources will be indicated on the ingredients mentioned on the pack. In our case, we ensure that all our products with a vegetarian mark (green dot), we only use vegetarian ingredients. We ensure that the suppliers who manufacture some of these ingredients for us also follow stringent requirements at their premises. Therefore, all our products with a vegetarian symbol have only ingredients from plant origin and do not contain any ingredient manufactured using any non-vegetarian ingredients.

    Thanking you for your interest in our products and assuring you of our best attention at all times. “

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s