Krishna’s Mercy and My Wisdom Teeth

I had 3 of my wisdom teeth pulled out in the last week. Only one of my extractions was giving me problems. I had accidentally hit it with my toothbrush on the 2nd day after the extraction which caused bleeding to start again. Then later I noticed it wasn’t healing well. There was a little hole there, or what would most likely be termed a “dry socket”. It’s a painful condition when the blood clot doesn’t form and the jawbone as well as nerve endings air exposed to air and food and thus can get infected. By Krishna’s mercy, I just happened to have a socket without no bone or nerve endings exposed and so, I had no severe pain at all. I called up my dentist and told him about the little hole and he suggested I take this medicine called Solcoseryl. I bought it and I used it. It’s a paste to apply over the hole to protect it from bits of food and stuff. Then at night, when I was going to apply it again, I noticed it said that one of its contents was from calves’ blood. I flipped out! How could I use this? Krishna loves cows! I cannot use their blood like this! I couldn’t stand the fact that calves were probably harmed to make this medicine. While the medicine is really highly effective, I simply wasn’t okay with using it. It didn’t feel right, to me. Of course, everyone has their own opinion about this. Mine was: Nope, I don’t want to use this. So I prayed hard. To Krishna, to Radha, to Chaitanya. I prayed saying please heal me so I won’t have to use this medicine. It wasn’t such a severe problem, but it was knowing that it was a potential problem was stressing me out. I woke up, still the same. Begging God to again, heal me. You heal everyone else. Why not me? I asked.

Later, I went to the dentist. At first he didn’t think it was a dry socket, but we soon found out that it was. It was just a hole, with nothing inside. Just hollow. So he treated it. And he told me I was very lucky – normally patients complain of terrible pain when they suffer from this problem. I barely felt a thing. He also said he was impressed with my strict vegetarianism. That made me feel nice.

After I left, I was thinking about everything. I was thinking about why Krishna didn’t heal me.

I didn’t need to be healed.

Krishna hadn’t put me in a problem to begin with. There was no bone exposed, no infection, nothing major. His grace had been with me all along, protecting me from any problems I might have. Hari Hari bol. I asked Krishna for a sign, as a confirmation about whether this is what the situation actually is. When I came home a few hours later, my devotee friend happened to tell me, “Krishna really loves you. There’s a new batch system for the Hare Krishna Youth Classes now.” I was thrilled! I’ve been dying to go but haven’t been able to due to some issues. Hopefully now they will be resolved and I can spend some more time among devotees!

Oh Krishna, thank You, for every answered prayer, and for every “unanswered” one. Only You know what is best for me. So I am laying down my life at Your feet. Even if You decide to kick me away or trample on me, I will consider myself most fortunate. Just let me be of some service to You. Please just let me devote myself to You.

3 Comments

Filed under Krishna Consciousness, Testimonies + Miracles + Mercy Stories

3 responses to “Krishna’s Mercy and My Wisdom Teeth

  1. Ash

    Wow, I am speechless. Krishna has His own way to healing us which is not neccesarily the way we expect Him to.

    Hope you feel better now and have recovered.

    Hare Krishna

    • DrainPiper

      I am perfectly alright, thanks to Krishna’s grace.

      Thank you for asking! And you’re right when you say that He heals us in ways that aren’t what we expect but exactly what we need! Just like all our “unanswered” prayers! It’s amazing how God can “not answer” our prayers yet still answer them, and give us exactly what we need to help us grow in loving, devotional service!

      Hare Krishna!

Leave a comment